General information

The Primera División, also known by most English-speaking parts of the world as La Liga or Liga BBVA (BBVA League), is the No.1 professional  football division of the Spanish Liga Nacional de Fútbol Profesional (LFP), offering the entire world an amazing spectacle every year between September and June. According to UEFA’s league coefficient, the Primera División (First Division) has been the most popular league in Europe in the past five years. Achieving an average attendance of 28,286 at the matches of the 2009–10 season, the Spanish championship is the sixth-highest domestic sport leagues in the world and the third-highest professional association football leagues in Europe, the top two being the German Bundesliga and English Premier League. You might have noticed by the number of Primera Division predictions published on our blog, that it’s also one of our favorite leagues.

Spanish Primera Division Standings

# Team P
1 Real Madrid 52
2 Barcelona 51
3 Sevilla 49
4 Atlético Madrid 45
5 Real Sociedad 41
6 Villarreal 39
7 Eibar 35
8 Athletic Club 35
9 Celta de Vigo 33
10 Espanyol 32
11 Deportivo Alavés 30
12 Las Palmas 28
13 Málaga 26
14 Real Betis 24
15 Valencia 23
16 Deportivo La Coruña 19
17 Leganés 18
18 Sporting Gijón 16
19 Granada 16
20 Osasuna 10


La Liga was established in 1928 by The Spanish Football Federation and started off as a ten-team competition. Overall, a total of 59 teams have competed in the championship, nine of which have won the title. The first team to have won the Primera Liga was FC Barcelona, plucking the victory from bitter rivals Real Madrid. But, over the course of years, La Liga has crowned other champions including: Atlético Madrid, Athletic Bilbao, Valencia, Deportivo, Real Betis and Sevilla. However, starting with the 1950s, Real Madrid and Barcelona have dominated the contest, with Barcelona winning the crown 21 times and Real having won a record 32 times and being the current defending champion. You will find the best Primera Division odds at Pinnacle Sports.


la liga primera division

The Primera División is presently a 20 teams contest and it uses the standard double round-robin format. During the season each club plays every other club twice, hosting one of them and having an away game, with a total of 38 matches. The teams receive three points for a win, one point for a draw and no points for a loss. The main criterion that ranks the teams is the total points, so the team with the biggest number of points at end of a season is crowned champion.

If two teams have an equal number of points, the head-to-head goal difference is used to determine the winner. In case the tie is between more than two clubs, the following criteria come into play: head-to-head points, head-to-head goal difference and head-to-head goals scored. If not all teams have played two legged games, or the tie remains unresolved by the above rules, it is broken using: total goal difference and total goals scored. In case the tie remains unsettled after all the above criteria has been applied, the Fair Play scales are used to determine the champion.

The Primera División and the Segunda División are linked by a promotion and relegation system, so as the bottom three teams in La Liga are downgraded to the Segunda División and the top two teams from the second division are promoted to La Liga. An additional club is promoted after a series of matches involving the third, fourth, fifth and sixth-placed clubs. Follow our Primera Division tips and register at bet365 for the best La Liga odds!


- Alands Penningautomatforening (PAF)  

- BBVA Group

Tv partners




-Marca TV

Latest Results

February 20, 2017
Málaga 2 - 1 Las Palmas
February 19, 2017
Barcelona 2 - 1 Leganés
Celta de Vigo 3 - 0 Osasuna
Valencia 2 - 0 Athletic Club
Real Sociedad 0 - 1 Villarreal
February 18, 2017
Sevilla 2 - 0 Eibar
Deportivo La Coruña 0 - 1 Deportivo Alavés
Real Madrid 2 - 0 Espanyol
Sporting Gijón 1 - 4 Atlético Madrid
February 17, 2017
Granada 4 - 1 Real Betis
February 13, 2017
Eibar 4 - 0 Granada
February 12, 2017
Atlético Madrid 3 - 2 Celta de Vigo
Las Palmas 0 - 1 Sevilla
Leganés 0 - 2 Sporting Gijón
Villarreal 1 - 1 Málaga
February 11, 2017
Osasuna 1 - 3 Real Madrid
Athletic Club 2 - 1 Deportivo La Coruña
Deportivo Alavés 0 - 6 Barcelona
Real Betis 0 - 0 Valencia
February 10, 2017
Espanyol 1 - 2 Real Sociedad

Players of the week

Jordi Alba
Sergio Ramos
Juan Fran
Cristiano Ronaldo