General information

premier_league_cupThe Premier League or the Barclays Premier League is a professional football championship and the primary football competition in England and Wales. It is actually a private company owned by the 20 Member Clubs who form the League at the time, each of them also being its Shareholders. However, the football clubs are independent and they are acting within the Premier League Rule Book, also being subject to English and European law. The competition takes place every year between August and May, offering football fans an amazing spectacle of 380 matches during the season. The games are usually played on weekends, however some matches take place on weekday evenings as well. Barclays Bank is the league’s sponsor, that’s why it is officially known as the Barclays Premier League, although it is mostly referred to as the English Premier League outside the country. You will find a great deal of English Premier League predictions on this blog.

English Premier League Standings

# Team P
1 Chelsea 69
2 Tottenham Hotspur 59
3 Manchester City 57
4 Liverpool 56
5 Manchester United 52
6 Arsenal 50
7 Everton 50
8 West Bromwich Albion 43
9 Stoke City 36
10 Southampton 33
11 AFC Bournemouth 33
12 West Ham United 33
13 Burnley 32
14 Watford 31
15 Leicester City 30
16 Crystal Palace 28
17 Swansea City 27
18 Hull City 24
19 Middlesbrough 22
20 Sunderland 20


The competition was initially created as the FA Premier League on 20 February 1992, as a result of First Division teams deciding to quit the Football League, founded in 1888, and beneficiate from the increasing influx of money being injected into the sport.  Gaining commercial independence from The Football Association and the Football League, the newly formed division now had the opportunity to negotiate its own broadcast agreement – a deal that will be worth £3 billion by 2013-14, with BSkyB and BT Group broadcasting in 212 countries to over 600 million viewers.  There’s no place to bet on the English Premier League like Pinnacle Sports!

The Premier League hosted its first season in 1992–93 and was initially comprised of 22 clubs: Arsenal, Aston Villa, Blackburn Rovers, Chelsea, Coventry City, Crystal Palace, Everton, Ipswich Town, Leeds United,  Liverpool, Manchester City, Manchester United, Middlebrough, Norwich City, Nottingham Forest, Oldham Athletic, Queens Park Rangers, Sheffield United, Sheffield Wednesday, Southampton, Tottenham Hotspur and Wimbledon. Brian Deane of Sheffield United scored the first ever Premier League goal in a 2–1 win against Manchester United.

Best Odds for the upcoming matches

The Barclays Premier League has been competed for 20 seasons since 1992, its previous champions including clubs like: Manchester United (12 titles), Arsenal (3), Chelsea (3), Blackburn Rovers (1) and Manchester City (1), who are the current champions after achieving a first place in the 2011–12 season.


Barclays Premier League TeamsTwenty football clubs compete in the English Premier League every year. According to the double round-robin system, the clubs face one another twice during the course of a season, playing home and away matches, with a total of 38 games. The teams earn three points in case of a win and one point in case of a draw, no points being awarded for a loss. The ranking criteria are, respectively, the total points, then goal difference, and then the goals scored.

The team which ends the season with most points is crowned champion. In case teams have an equal number of points, the winner is determined by the goal difference and then the goals scored. The clubs which occupy the three lowest places are downgraded into the Football League Championship, and the Championship’s top two teams, along with the winner of the play-offs, are promoted in their place.


1993–2001: Carling (FA Carling Premiership)

2001–2004: Barclaycard (Barclaycard Premiership)

2004–present: Barclays (Barclays Premiership until 2007, being later renamed Barclays Premier League)

Latest Results

March 19, 2017
Manchester City 1 - 1 Liverpool
Tottenham Hotspur 2 - 1 Southampton
Middlesbrough 1 - 3 Manchester United
March 18, 2017
AFC Bournemouth 2 - 0 Swansea City
Crystal Palace 1 - 0 Watford
Everton 4 - 0 Hull City
Stoke City 1 - 2 Chelsea
Sunderland 0 - 0 Burnley
West Ham United 2 - 3 Leicester City
West Bromwich Albion 3 - 1 Arsenal
March 12, 2017
Liverpool 2 - 1 Burnley
March 11, 2017
AFC Bournemouth 3 - 2 West Ham United
Everton 3 - 0 West Bromwich Albion
Hull City 2 - 1 Swansea City
March 8, 2017
Manchester City 0 - 0 Stoke City
March 6, 2017
West Ham United 1 - 2 Chelsea
March 5, 2017
Sunderland 0 - 2 Manchester City
Tottenham Hotspur 3 - 2 Everton

Players of the week