General information

The Serie A or Serie A TIM is the top professional football competition in the Italian football league system. Active for over 80 years, it has been considered the best football league in the world since the 90s up till mid 2000. UEFA’s league coefficient system ranked the Italian championship as the 4th among European leagues, just behind the English Premier League, Spanish La Liga, and German Bundesliga. It also ranked 5th in the world according to the first trends of the 2011 IFFHS rating. The contest takes place every year between August and June and it is an extraordinary event, eagerly anticipated by football fans from all over the world, as it hosts three of the world’s strongest teams: Juventus, Milan and Internazionale. Serie A match predictions might not be dominating on this blog, but we are big fans of the league.


mario balotelliFounded in 1898 and re-structured into its present form in 1929, the Italian championship was originally divided into groups by region. It was later re-organized into two major Divisions that were split as North-South leagues. The merge of those leagues lead to the 1929-30 agreement, which resulted in the present Serie A contest, enjoyed by millions of fans worldwide. The most successful club in the championship’s history is Juventus with 30 winning titles, followed by Milan with 18, Internazionale with 16 and Genoa being crowned 9 times. The Serie A Coppa Campioni d’Italia trophy has been the official award since the 1960–61 season and between 1961 and 2004 the winning clubs have been receiving them at the Lega Nazionale Professionisti main office. The title is also known as the scudetto (small shield), due to a symbolic manifestation made by the 1924-25 season’s winning team. Starting with 2004–05 the awarding procedure has changed and the clubs received their trophies on the pitch. On 30 April 2009, 19 out of 20 Serie A football clubs voted for a split from Serie B for broadcasting reasons, with Maurizio Beretta announced as the new president the league. Follow our Serie A tips and bet at the highest odds at MAXBET!


Although, the biggest part of the championship’s history has seen 16 or 18 teams competing for the title, starting with 2004–05 the Serie A has been a 20 football clubs contest, using the true round-robin format. During the season, each club plays a certain other club twice (once at home and once away), with a total of 38 matches for every team. So, the teams face their opponents in the first half of the season (andata), hosting the first encounter, for a total of 19 games. Then they face the exact same opponents in an away game in the second half of the season (ritorno). Since the 1994-1995 season, the football clubs have been awarded three points for a win, one point for a draw, and no points for a loss. Beginning with 2005–06, if two or more teams had the same number of total points, the ordering is determined by their head-to-head records. In case the tie hasn’t been resolved by the above factors, goal difference is the secondary deciding criterion.

The Serie A’s top three teams qualify for the UEFA Champions League, with the top two qualifying directly to the group phase and the third one entering the qualifying round. The Italian championship’s bottom three clubs are relegated to Serie B. If you’d like us to publish more Serie A betting picks & predictions drop us a line!


Telecom Italia is the official sponsor of the Serie A championship.

Players of the week


This post is also available in: Romanian